Exa Card
The Exa Card is a virtual Visa Signature card from the Exa App, built on the Exactly lending protocol: your deposit is the collateral and your limit. You can pay now from the deposit or split a purchase into up to nine fixed-rate instalments. It pays no cashback.
- Visa
- Apple Pay
- Google Pay
- KYC required
- Virtual card
- Self-custody
Good
- Self-custody collateral: your deposit keeps earning a variable yield
- Pay now or in up to 9 fixed-rate instalments
- Visa Signature benefits: concierge, warranty, price and purchase protection
- Issued right after KYC; Apple Pay and Google Pay
Watch out
- No cashback
- Virtual card only
- Global accounts may pay up to 1.5% FX plus up to 1.5% cross-border
- Late instalments cost 0.455% a day
Key facts
- Cashback
- 0%no cashback
- Annual fee
- Free
- Top-up fee
- ACH 0.4%, SEPA 0.7%, wire 1%
- FX fee
- Up to 1.5% + up to 1.5% cross-border
Rewards
| Cashback | 0% (no cashback) |
|---|---|
| Referral | 10 USDC for you and 10 USDC for the person you invite. |
Perks
- Visa concierge, extended warranty, price and purchase protection, Visa Luxury Hotel Collection
Fees, limits and card details
| Annual fee | FreeUS accounts; not disclosed for global accounts |
|---|---|
| Foreign currency (FX) | Up to 1.5% + up to 1.5% cross-borderGlobal accounts; 1% for US accounts |
| Top-up | ACH 0.4%, SEPA 0.7%, wire 1%Bank top-ups; on-chain USDC deposits are not charged by Exa |
| ATM withdrawal | $1 + 0.65% |
| Late payment (US) | 2% of the balance |
| Late Pay Later instalment | 0.455% a day |
| ATM, per transaction | $250 |
|---|---|
| ATM, per day | 4 withdrawals a day |
- Your credit limit equals your collateral.
| Provider | Exa (Exactly Protocol) |
|---|---|
| Network | VisaVisa Signature. |
| Card type | CreditCollateral equals your deposit and your limit; global accounts get a spend card, US accounts a credit card. |
| Custody | Self-custody |
| Formats | Virtual card |
| Currencies | USD |
| Issuer | Third NationalFunding partner: Bridge. Spend settles on Base and Optimism. |
| Wallets | Apple Pay: Yes; Google Pay: Yes |
| Launched | July 2024 |
| Required | KYC required |
|---|
- The card is issued immediately after identity verification.
Official links
Availability
Available (6)
Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Brazil, United Arab Emirates, United States
Other countries are unknown: the provider does not publish a full list.
Provider's claim: 47 countries for the card; the app says 160+.
Only some of the 47 countries are named in the sources.
Supported cryptocurrencies
- USDC
- ETH
- wstETH
- WBTC
- OP
Supported networks
- Optimism
- Arbitrum
- Ethereum
- Polygon
Bank and card top-ups
ACH, SEPA, Wire.
- Collateral: USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC and OP. PaymentScan sees on-chain funding on Optimism only.
Community review
App Store
5.0 out of 5 from 4 ratings
App: Exa App Fewer than 20 ratings: shown, not scored.
Our rating
4.3 out of 10
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Points |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fees | 28% | 4.3 | 1.20 |
| Cheapest cardUnknown | 20% | 2.0 | |
| Yearly cost$0 | 20% | 10.0 | |
| Top-up cost0.4% | 20% | 2.8 | |
| Cost per purchaseUnknown | 15% | 2.0 | |
| FX cost3% | 15% | 0.0 | |
| ATM cost1.15% | 10% | 10.0 | |
| Rewards | 18% | 0.5 | 0.09 |
| Cashback at $1,000 a month0% | 75% | 0.0 | |
| Reward currencyNo cashback | 15% | 0.0 | |
| Perks1 | 10% | 5.0 | |
| Availability | 14% | 4.1 | 0.57 |
| Countries6 countries | 70% | 1.5 | |
| Apple Pay and Google Pay10 of 10 | 30% | 10.0 | |
| Limits | 7% | 1.4 | 0.10 |
| Spending capacity a dayUnknown | 70% | 2.0 | |
| Cash a day$250 | 30% | 0.0 | |
| Custody | 7% | 10.0 | 0.70 |
| Track record | 7% | 9.4 | 0.66 |
| Age27 months | 50% | 8.8 | |
| IssuerNamed | 30% | 10.0 | |
| IncidentsNone | 20% | 10.0 | |
| Data completeness | 6% | 8.5 | 0.51 |
| KYC and privacy | 5% | 4.0 | 0.20 |
| Networks and coins | 5% | 4.4 | 0.22 |
| Networks4 | 50% | 2.9 | |
| Coins5 | 50% | 5.8 | |
| App ratings | 3% | 2.0 | 0.06 |
| Total | 100% | 4.31 = 4.3 |
Each criterion is scored 0 to 10, rounded to 0.1, then multiplied by its weight. Unknown values score 2.
How to get the card
- Install the Exa App and pass identity verification.
- Deposit USDC or other collateral; your limit equals the deposit.
- Use the virtual card in Apple Pay or Google Pay; choose Pay Now or instalments per purchase.
Questions
How much does the Exa Card card cost?
Annual fee: Free. Top-up fee: ACH 0.4%, SEPA 0.7%, wire 1%.
Does Exa Card pay cashback?
No, Exa Card does not pay cashback.
Does Exa Card require KYC?
Yes, Exa Card requires identity verification before you get the card. The card is issued immediately after identity verification.
Is Exa Card available in the US?
Yes, Exa Card is available in the US.
Can I add Exa Card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Yes, Exa Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay.
Which coins and networks can I use to top up Exa Card?
Coins: USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC, OP. Networks: Optimism, Arbitrum, Ethereum, Polygon.
Similar cards
- Avici6.3Cashback: 0%; Card price: $15; KYC required
- Avalanche Card5.0Cashback: Not disclosed; Card price: Free; KYC required
- Tuyo5.4Cashback: 0%; Card price: Free; KYC required
- ether.fi Cash7.8Cashback: 3%; Card price: Free; KYC required
Before you order
The Order card button is an affiliate link: we may earn a commission if you sign up. It does not change the rating or the order of the catalog.
This page is not financial advice. Terms change often; check fees, limits and availability with the provider before you order.
How we rate cards: methodology. How we earn money: affiliate disclosure.
Sources
- Apple App Store listing
- Official docs
- DefiLlama
- PaymentScan
Figures are taken from these sources in this order of priority: the provider's own pages, then DefiLlama, then other reviews, then Telegram reports.